Fifth Cultural Prize Ceremony

Published On Sat, Oct 10, 2015

The ceremony was attended by actors Hisham Abdel-Hamid, Mohamed Sobhi, Yossra, filmmaker Khaled Youssef and novelist Gamal El-Ghitani as well as top intellects, artists, writers, literati and ambassadors.

The literary prize saw 161 works, including 70 novels and 91 collections of short stories, vying for the title. In the film script category, 150 contestants competed for the award. A new prize was added to this year's event -- Best Play Script. In this group, 138 scripts were presented. The prize ranged between LE30,000 and LE100,000.

The best novel prize went to Montasir Al-Kafash, as a senior author, for his novel “Masa’let Wakt” (A matter of Time) and the prize of best collections of short stories for senior writers went to Hanaa Atia for her collections “Onf El-Zel” or (The violence of the shadow). The first prize of novels written by young authors went to Reem Basiouni for her novel “Dr. Hanaa”, while Hani Abdel Moreed won the second prize for his novel “Kirialison”. For the best collections of short stories for young authors, Mohamed Fathi came on the first place for his collections “Begwar Ragol A’refouho” (next to a man I know) and Hasan Kamal Mahmoud won the second prize for his collections “Koshari Misr” . The award was presented to the winners by Eng. Naguib Sawiris.

The Award for best screenplays went to Esam Helmy for his screenscript “Niran Sadika” (friendly fires). Screenwriter Ahmed Nabil Tawfeek was awarded the prize of young screenwriters for his script “EL-Feel El-Nono EL-Ghalabawy”.

The prize of the best playwriting was equally divided between the author Mansour Mekkawi on the play "Akhenaton," and Ahmad Al-Attar on is play "El-Hayat Helwa” or “Life is Good."

The jury of the best work of fiction and the best collection of short stories formed of two branches, the first section of the senior writers included: Khairi Shalabi, Sanaa Baisie, and Dr Muhammad Badawi, Hussein Hammouda, and Dr. Samia Mehrez. Section II of the young writers included: Mustafa Nabil , Helmi Alnmnm, novelist Mahmoud Wardani, and Dr. Gharaa Muhanna, and Dr. Mona Tolba.

The jury of the best script written by senior screenwriters consisted of: film critic Ali Abu Shadi, Scriptwriter Bashir El-Deek, writer Ahmed Yousef, Dr. Yehya, Azmi and writer Kamal Ramzi, while the young screenwriters committee was formed of director Samir Seif, writer and critic Raouf Tawfik , and decor designer Salah Marei, screenwriter Dr. Mohamed Kamel Kaliouby, and writer and critic Essam Zakaria. The winners received their prizes from megastar Yousra.

The jury of the playwriting included director Ahmed Abdel Halim, and theater director, Dr. Samir Alasfory, critic Dr. Hassan Attia, Dr. Mona Safwat, and Dr. Iman Izz al-Din Ismail. The award was presented by the famous actor Mohamed Sobhi. late Mohamed el-Sayed Said was also honored during the ceremony.

Jury member, Director Khairi Shalabi asserted that the prizes went to authentic works characterized by top quality, fine language and the use of fiction techniques and added "in this competition, we've gone beyond the performance traditional styles, as we dealt with texts of true talents .. we have to open the way for them." Movie critic Abu Shadi referred to the large number of screenplays received by the jury, that reached to 57 scripts.